Tried & True: What’s Your Go-To Product?

 

Via: boudoirvanity.tumblr.com

Via: boudoirvanity.tumblr.com

Some of my most vivid memories, so lifelike they bring back a flood of crisp colors and rich aromas, are the summers I spent as a child at my grandparents’ home outside of Chicago.

One muggy day I remember lying in the grass beside the backyard patio, when I heard the screen door open and lazily slam behind my grandmother, who approached with a small box in her hand. I knew from the signature design on the box that it was her Coty Powder, one of the few items of makeup she used, a loose powder I associated with glamorous parties and complex, grownup conversation.

In her ceremonial way that made everything seem vastly exciting and infinitely special, she presented the box to me, the powder all used up, and told me to keep whatever I wanted in it. That summer, I hoarded everything from 25 cent jewelry to glittery bouncy balls in that box; and although faded, the subtle fragrance that reminds me so intensely of my grandmother still remains.

When I recently searched for the powder online, it made me smile to see that it is still sold and that many women write raving reviews for the product, some of the women having used it for over 20 years. Equipped with a fluffy powder puff, the powder is still made using its original formula, and the packaging still evokes the days of Hollywood starlets and old school glamor.

Whenever my overpriced, “high definition” powder runs out, I think I may try experiencing this tried and true cosmetic. The feeling of opening a new box, the familiar scent scattered into the air will alone make the $7 worth it.

Do you have a cosmetic that’s tried & true? What beauty tricks did your grandmother teach you? Let us know!

Leave a Reply

